Networks

Network Management FAQ


What is an Instant Messaging Network?

How can I register my own network?

Can I add/delete/edit the users from my network?

How can I join a network?

Can I switch to a different network?

Can I have contacts that are from different networks?

 


 


What is an Instant Messaging Network?

Every Instant Messenger application needs support from servers to operate properly. The set of the servers that support the Instant Messenger application is called an “Instant Messaging Network”. All users that use this application and its servers participate in one Instant Messaging Network. Users in one IM network can communicate only with users in the same IM network.

Network Management is a feature of Brosix Enterprise. All users of Brosix Personal participate in one IM Network called “Brosix Public FREE”.

 

How can I register my own network?

Go to the Network Registration Form and fill in the form. It will take less than a minute to create a fully functional IM network that you fully control.

 

Can I add/delete/edit the users from my network?

Yes, you can add, delete and edit all user accounts in your network. To do so, you need to login your network web control panel.

 

How can I join a network?

The network administrator will provide you with a special Brosix application build that works with this network. Then, you install the application and sign up for this network. From the end user point of view, there is only one network – the one he/she uses. From network owner point of view, his/her network is the only one that operates on all Brosix servers.

 

Can I switch to a different network?

No, you cannot. Your account name is unique inside the network it is created. That’s why switching to another network is not a good idea – if there is another account with the same name, it may cause problems. So, if you want to join another network, create a new account for that network.

 

Can I have contacts that are from different networks?

No, you cannot. The idea of private network is that the participants are in a private area of authorized users only. Each account can have accounts from its network only. If you want to have contacts from another network, you need to create an account in that network.